Fuzzy Summer Memories

Mercer Island, WA. Summer of 1974? Maybe 1975?

Most of my memories from this pre-elementary-school period, and that summer in particular, are fuzzy. But a few are cemented.

Suburban living. Grassy backyard. Barefoot sister fun. Gymnastics.

Also deck building. Dirt. Stacked lumber. The high pitched screech of saws cutting wood. The sweet scent of fresh cut cedar and sawdust.

My sisters and I loved running around on the grass in our suburban Mercer Island backyard. We usually played our version of “gymnastics”. Taking turns barefoot-sprinting the length of the backyard, punctuated by a cartwheel or two. Maybe a somersault. Or even a handspring.

Wholesome outdoor 1970’s family fun.

I don’t know when “the wheelbarrow incident” happened. Probably not on this particular day. But definitely sometime that summer. Because of the deck building.

I don’t remember if gymnastics was involved either. But I do remember barefoot running on dewy grass. Also a steel wheelbarrow with wood handles. I’m pretty sure my dad still owns that wheelbarrow.

I remember slipping on the wet grass. Losing control. And sliding feet first under that steel wheelbarrow. I remember the impact of wood and metal on lips and teeth. I remember the metallic taste of blood.

Two front teeth dislodged. One swallowed.

But you can’t see that memory in this photo.

You see a handsome dad wearing a white t-shirt and cut-off jorts. Standing with two smiling barefoot girls. One of them donning a baggy 1970’s green and yellow striped swimsuit. (She probably spent all day in that swimsuit, splashing around in the neighborhood pool playing marco polo.) You see lumber. Lush green grass. And the glow of a suburban summer sunset.

An ideal 1970’s summer photo.

The other memory belongs to me alone.

Anne

One thought on “Fuzzy Summer Memories

Comments are closed.